Law Office of Ellene Welsh
Law Office of Ellene Welsh

Speak To An Attorney Today. No Cost Or Obligation.



How to file for workers’ compensation in Georgia

On Behalf of | Apr 6, 2020 | Workers' Compensation | 0 comments

When you experience an injury or illness associated with your job, you may be eligible for workers’ compensation. In Georgia, the State Board of Workers’ Compensation manages this process.

Prepare yourself by knowing the steps to take after an employment injury.

File a WC-14

Fill out this form and send it to your employer and the company’s workers’ comp insurance provider. You can call the State Board at 770-489-3456 to get the insurance company’s name and contact information. You must notify your employer and file this form within 30 days of the injury or illness diagnosis to remain eligible for workers’ compensation.

Review benefit amounts

If your illness or injury keeps you out of work for at least seven days, you can apply for temporary total disability benefits. These payments comprise two-thirds of your average weekly wage up to a cap of $675. You can receive TTD for up to 400 weeks or until you reach maximum medical improvement. Temporary partial disability may be available if you can still work but earn less than you did before the injury occurred.

For a permanent disability, you will receive 300 weeks of benefits multiplied by the percentage of your injury according to your doctor. For example, you would receive 300 weeks if you are completely disabled and 150 weeks for a 50% partial disability.

Understand medical coverage and other benefits

Your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance plan must also pay your medical costs associated with the illness or injury for up to 400 weeks. Catastrophic injuries can qualify for permanent medical coverage. However, in either case you must seek care from an authorized plan physician. Individuals receiving workers’ compensation can also receive compensation for miles traveled to and from doctors’ appointments.

All employers in Georgia that have three or more employees must have a workers’ compensation insurance policy. In addition, employers must offer coverage beginning on the first day a worker begins his or her duties.


FindLaw Network