You work hard, for years, to build a career and support yourself. Then, one day, something goes wrong. Maybe you got startled when lifting something, causing a back injury. Maybe equipment malfunctioned, resulting in broken bones and soft tissue injuries. Whatever the situation, if you got hurt because of a workplace accident, you should be receiving workers’ compensation. Unfortunately, some employers don’t always comply with the law. They may refuse to submit accident reports and claims that have to do with your injuries. Sometimes they fire whoever asks for workers’ compensation.
This kind of discrimination is illegal, but that doesn’t stop it from happening. Workers who get hurt on the job should receive workers’ compensation for their medical expenses and to offset lost wages while they recover. If your employer has fired you because you filed a workers’ compensation claim, you still have options. Don’t let an unscrupulous employer deny you benefits that your wages have contributed toward for years. If you suffered a workplace injury and got fired as a result, you need to push back and demand the medical and lost wage benefits you have earned through years of hard work.
Georgia workers’ compensation should protect workers
Blue collar workers, especially those who work in construction, manufacturing or meat processing, are often at higher risk for injuries at work. When you suffer a work injury, you should immediately report it to management, if you are able to do so. After advising your employer, you should seek medical attention for your injuries right away. You typically have 30 days from the date of the incident to seek workers’ compensation. Within those 30 days, you must file a claim with the state. Failing to do so, unless there is a medical reason preventing you from filing, could result in a loss of benefits.
Typically, all medical expenses related to a work injury are covered by workers’ compensation. In some cases, however, if your employer tries to deny your claim, you may need to request a hearing with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. During this hearing, you can present documentation and testimony about your work injury, as will your employer. Chances are, your employer will have an attorney arguing for their side of the case. You want to work with an experienced Georgia workers’ compensation lawyer to get the benefits you’ve earned.
An attorney can make all the difference
It can be difficult to comply with paperwork and procedural requirements when you’re trying to recover from a work injury. An attorney can help ensure that you are following all rules and laws, while also advocating for the best possible outcome to your case. Even if your employer fired you and you are no longer employed, you may receive workers’ compensation benefits if you were employed when you suffered your injuries. A workers’ compensation attorney helps determine what your options are if you were unfairly fired for filing a claim.